Deviantart

Hello. Long time since my last post. It has been a few busiest months, coming to an end this week after I am done with my Final Year Project Oral Presentation.

Just so you know, the title of this post is not anyway related to “art that is deviant in a heinous manner or whatsoever”, but just an art community site that I am a member of since 9 years (WUT! 9 years?!) ago. Yes, it is Deviantart.com It is a shocking figure that shows how fast time actually flies. While browsing through my page, which I rarely do, I feel like a loser.šŸ˜¦ Let me tell you why.

I had a very strong self-esteem when I thought I’m really good at drawing. So I drew and drew. Back then, I had little access to the internet and not even a scanner or a proper computer. I would let my sister to bring all my drawings to scan at her office and send them to me via e-mail. Then I would post them one by one to Deviantart.com using a public computer. Later, the venue has a scanner. I was very delighted. I drew more, scan more, and post more. As I grew older, I owned a computer, and happily installed Adobe Photoshop (my dream software) in it. I couldn’t afford a tablet yet (I mean, I could afford it but I don’t have enough reason to buy one yet). I did some digital arts and colorings and happily posted them up on the site. Later, I had a color printer with scanner. Oh, I forgot to mention, I was also a fanatic anime fans who liked to save beautiful pictures found on the web and asked my sister to print them, in copies. So, this printer has been almost 3 years old. I have never print out any anime pictures nor scan any of my drawings. In fact, I rarely post nor draw something proper for years.

I encountered a page on Deviantart.com just a while ago. Well, sorry. The drawings sucks. The Deviant (an artist in the community) has joined the site for only 2 years and the pageview is about 20k. While mine, 9 years with only 35k views. In fact, this is not my first encounter. I have seen many Deviants who draw simple and children-like drawing but received more views and likes than my most popular drawing. This raises a question in me. Are my drawings worse than hers? If not, what’s wrong? Yes, there is something wrong, but it’s in me. It’s about the hardwork and connection. Detaching from the community for years and you expect people to recognize you? Nah. Not putting in any more effort or show any improvement since 9 years ago and expecting people to praise you? Nah. Not giving people feedback and expecting people to give you their feedback? Nah. This world is about give and take. Well there are artists who are extremely good and their artworks receive recognition without them giving as much feedback to the community. But this goes back to the hardwork. They posted their work from time to time, with better artwork each time. If they don’t, the feedback will certainly die down someday too. While those who are not as talented and yet receiving a good amount of positive feedback, it’s about them reaching out to the community and people are returning the favour to encourage such positive cycle.

So why am I only receiving 35k of pageviews? Back to those 2 points: I’m not putting in enough effort and I’m not sociable. I don’t draw diligently and I don’t improve. Even if I really have the potential in arts, if I don’t work on it, nothing big is going to happen. I don’t improve in the sense that I don’t actively seeking new skills nor learning to use new tools. Meh. Second, I don’t actively participate in the community. I don’t make myself known to others, why do you think people could find my page and give me a “Fave” (it’s like a “Like” on Facebook)?

In life (in real life I mean, not just an online community), the rules apply. Remain silent and no one will notice you. Remain lazy and normal as ever, no one will ever recognize you. Unless you work hard enough to prove yourself; unless you actively engaging people around you and spread your connection, nobody knows whom you could be. Not even yourself.

Okay, here’s my site and I will get my pageview up and my website ranking up again! (but sometimes there are difficult circumstances that you can’t avoid.šŸ˜¦ oh well.)

Leave a Reply

